Tsinghua professors, alumni elected CAS and CAE members

On November 18, the Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS) and the Chinese Academy of Engineering (CAE) announced their list of newly elected members. Tsinghua professors Wang Meixiang, Jiang Peixue, Li Keqiang, Luo Yi, and Zhang Ya-Qin, as well as alumni Wang Guoqing and Zhang Zongliang, have been honored as this year's newest members.

New members of the Chinese Academy of Sciences:

Wang Meixiang

Wang Meixiang, a professor at Tsinghua University’s Department of Chemistry, earned his master’s degree and doctorate in Organic Chemistry from the Institute of Chemistry, Chinese Academy of Sciences.

From 1997 to 2007, he was engaged in the study of biocatalysis, developing the method of enantioselective biotransformation of nitriles to synthesize chiral carboxylic acids and their derivatives. Starting from 2004, he has focused on the macrocyclic and supramolecular chemistry. He has established the chemistry of iconic heteracalixaromatics and coronarenes, advanced the understanding of noncovalent anion-pi interactions, high valent organocopper chemistry and copper catalysis. His most recent ten years’ work on zigzag hydrocarbon nanobelts represents a breakthrough in the bottom-up synthesis and has allowed access to atomically precise nanostructures.

Professor Wang has won successively the Qiushi Outstanding Young Scholar Award, the Mao Yi-Sheng Science and Technology Award for Young Scientists, the Chinese Chemical Society Award for Creativity in Organic Synthesis, and the Physical Organic Chemistry Award of Chinese Chemical Society. He was once elected as a member of the Standing Committee of the 10th National People's Congress, and now he serves as a member of the Standing Committee of Chinese People's Political Consultative Conference.

Jiang Peixue

Jiang Peixue is dean of Tsinghua University’s School of Mechanical Engineering, director of the Department of Energy and Power Engineering, and dean of the Shanxi Research Institute for Clean Energy, Tsinghua University. He earned his bachelor’s degree from Tsinghua University’s Department of Energy and Power Engineering and Ph.D. from Moscow Power Engineering Institute, Russia.

His research on fundamental theory and key technologies of heat transfer at micro/nano scale, supercritical pressures and/or extremely high heat flux conditions have been applied to thermal protection on aerospace, CO2 utilization and storage and other fields.

New members of the Chinese Academy of Engineering:

Li Keqiang

Li Keqiang, a professor at Tsinghua University’s School of Vehicle and Mobility, earned his bachelor’s degree from the Department of Automotive Engineering of Tsinghua University in 1985 and Ph.D. in mechanical engineering from Chongqing University in 1995.

Professor Li has long devoted himself to the research and development of automotive intelligent driving systems regarding dynamic design and control. He has participated in research for the development of three generations of system devices for "Intelligent Safe Driving", "Intelligent Integrated Driving" and "Intelligent & Connected Driving", and realized their application, making important contributions to the breakthrough and industrialization of core intelligent vehicle technologies in China.

He has published over 200 papers and three academic monographs, and has received four science and technology awards, as well as 60 patents, both at home and abroad.

Luo Yi

Luo Yi, a professor at the Department of Electronic Engineering, Tsinghua University, received the B.S. degree from Tsinghua University in 1983, and the M.S. and Ph.D. degrees from the University of Tokyo in 1987 and 1990, respectively.

His research interests focus on compound semiconductor optoelectronic devices and their applications, including semiconductor lasers, LEDs, optical modulators, photodetectors, photonic integrated circuits, and their applications in optical fiber communications, broadband high-speed information sensing, semiconductor lighting and other fields. He has authored over 360 journal and conference papers and received four national awards. He is also the holder of more than 40 patents.

New foreign member of the Chinese Academy of Engineering:

Zhang Ya-Qin

Zhang Ya-Qin, Chair Professor of AI Science and Dean of the Institute for AI Industry Research of Tsinghua University(AIR), earned his Ph.D. from George Washington University in 1989.

Professor Zhang is a world-class scientist and entrepreneur in the field of digital video and artificial intelligence. Many of his image and video compression and transmission technologies have been included in international standards and widely used in the fields of high-definition TV, internet video, multimedia retrieval, mobile video and image databases. He has published over 500 papers and 11 monographs, and has more than 60 international patents.

Two Tsinghua alumni elected as members of the Chinese Academy of Engineering:

Wang Guoqing

Wang Guoqing is currently a researcher and chief information officer of China Aerospace Science and Technology Corporation. He obtained his bachelor's degree and doctorate from the Department of Mechanical Engineering of Tsinghua University.

He has participated in the development of several aerospace models, developed a number of key manufacturing technologies, and solved the bottleneck of model development. He has received three national scientific and technological progress awards, the Ho Leung Ho Lee Foundation Science and Technology Progress Award, the British TWI Brooker Award and many other awards.

Zhang Zongliang

Zhang Zongliang, chief engineer of China Power Construction Group Kunming Survey, Design and Research Institute Co., Ltd. and chief technical expert of China Power Construction Group, earned his bachelor’s degree from Tsinghua University’s Department of Hydraulic Engineering.

He has organized and participated in the design and completion of 24 large-scale water conservancy and hydropower projects.

Relying on the research and practice of 17 key scientific and technological projects and 30 high dam projects, he has made a series of innovative achievements in dam technology. He is one of the leading figures in the survey and design of water conservancy and hydropower projects in China.

Editor: Li Han

Copyright 2001-2021 news.tsinghua.edu.cn. All rights reserved.