Tsinghua University holds conference marking Shiing-Shen Chern's 110th Birth Anniversary

A group of leading mathematicians from home and abroad attended a high-level commemorative forum at Tsinghua University on Oct 10, 2021 to mark the 110th anniversary of the birth of late master mathematician Shiing-Shen Chern (1911-2004).

Chern is known for his prominent achievements in the development of differential geometry in the 20th century.

Attendees of the 4-day conference included four Fields Medal winners, namely Shing-Tung Yau, a Chinese-American mathematician and director of Yau Mathematical Sciences Center, Tsinghua University; Caucher Birkar; Simon Donaldson, and Maxim Kontsevich.

Academic talks will center around the development of affiliated branches of geometry and the important contributions made by Chern to the discipline of global differential geometry.

Specially invited speakers to the opening ceremony of the commemorative conference included Qiu Yong, president of Tsinghua University; Yau; Yang Le, academician of the Academy of Sciences; Robbert Dijkgraaf, director of the US Institute for Advanced Study; Caucher Birkar, a Fields Medal winner; Zou Wenming, Dean of Mathematical Sciences Department of Tsinghua University; and Hung-Hsi Wu, a mathematics professor with the University of California, Berkeley.

Professor Chern made remarkable contributions to the development of Chinese mathematics and the exchanges between China and other countries in mathematics before he passed away in Tianjin in December 2004.

Editors: Li Han, John Olbrich  

Copyright 2001-2021 news.tsinghua.edu.cn. All rights reserved.