Home  ›  staff  ›  Guest professors

Guest professors

Masahiko Aoki, (Stanford University) is President of the International Economic Association (2008-2011) and was also the President and Chief Research Officer of the Research Institute of Economy, Trade and Industry, Japan (2001-2004). He has been recognized with several distinguished awards including the Japan Academy Prize (1990), the Hiromi Arasawa Memorial Award (1990), and the Schumpter Prize (1998). He is also the Director of the Virtual Center for Advanced Studies in Institution at Tokyo Foundation.


John Lawson Thornton (b.1954) is Professor and Director of Global Leadership at Tsinghua University in Beijing. He is a former President and Co-COO of Goldman Sachs. In 1983, Thornton founded and developed Goldman Sachs' European mergers and acquisitions business. He served as co-CEO of Goldman Sachs International in London from 1995 to 1996. Thornton was Chairman of Goldman Sachs Asia from 1996 to 1998, where he expanded the firm's regional franchise during the Asian financial crisis. Thornton is a director of Intel, Pacific Century Group, Ford Motor Company, China Netcom, HSBC Holdings,and News Corporation. He is also Chairman of the Board of The Brookings Institution.