Home  ›  staff  ›  Honorary Professors

Honorary Professors

Joseph Stiglitz(Columbia University) is the most cited economist in the world, is a recipient of the Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences (2001) and the John Bates Clark Medal (1979). A former Senior Vice President and Chief Economist of the World Bank, he is also known for his critical view of the management of globalization, free-market economies and some international institutions.  In 2000 Stiglitz founded the Initiative for Policy Dialogue, where he chairs the University of Manchester’s Brooks World Poverty Institute and is a member of the Pontifical Academy of Social Sciences. In addition, he also chairs The Commission of Experts of the President of the UN General Assembly on Reforms of the International Monetary and Financial System