Research Platform

On April 10th, 2007, the 18th Tsinghua University council meeting of the school year from 2006 to 2007 reviewed and adopted the "Administration Regulations on the Research Institutions of Tsinghua University (hereinafter referred to as "the regulations").

In December, 2009, the 7th council meeting of the school year from 2009 to 2010 reviewed and revised the regulations and clearly stipulated that, in terms of the subjects who issued the approvals, research institutions of Tsinghua University can be classified under three categories, as described in the following.

One category is approved by government bodies. This includes key governmental research institutions relying on the university resources, and science and technology service organizations equipped with accreditation qualification, established by the state, provincial governments or ministries. The second category covers institutions solely approved by Tsinghua University.

The third category covers jointly established via agreements signed by the University and outside independent legal entities. This category includes joint research institutions with enterprises or institutions from both home and abroad, or with foreign universities, research institutions and organizations.

As of 30st June, 2016, the number of Tsinghua University's research institutions in operation totaled 337.