Huang Yonggang

Yonggang Huang is the Walter P. Murphy Professor of Engineering at Northwestern University. He is a “1000-plan” visiting professor at the School of Aerospace Engineering, Tsinghua University. He is a member of US National Academy of Engineering, a member of the European Academy of Sciences and Arts, a foreign member of Academia Europaea and a foreign member of Chinese Academy of Sciences. He received his BS degree in mechanics from Peking University in 1984 and earned his PhD degree in engineering science from Harvard University in 1990.

Yonggang Huang has been working on the mechanics of materials, structures and electronic devices. He pioneered the research area of stretchable inorganic electronics with his collaborators, and developed the mechanism-based strain gradient plasticity theory. He is the author of over 500 publications in peer-reviewed international journals, with a citation of more than 40,000.

Yonggang Huang has been honored with many recognitions for his research in mechanics and mechanical engineering, including the Larson Award in 2003, Melville Medal in 2004, Richards Award in 2010, Drucker Medal in 2013, and Nadai Medal in 2016, all from American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME); Young Investigator Medal in 2006 and Prager Medal in 2017 from the Society of Engineering Sciences; International Journal of Plasticity Medal in 2007; Guggenheim Fellowship from the John Simon Guggenheim Foundation in 2008.