LU Jianhua

Lu, Jianhua, a member of Chinese Academy of Sciences and an expert on Communication and Information systems, was born in Nantong, Jiangsu Province, in 1963.

Prof. Lu received the B.S.E.E. and M.S.E.E. degrees from Tsinghua University, Beijing, China, in 1986 and 1989, respectively, and his Ph.D. degree in Electrical & Electronic Engineering from the Hong Kong University of Science & Technology in 1998. Since 1989, he has been with the Dept. of Electronic Engineering, Tsinghua University, where he now serves as a Professor. He is an Associate Dean of the School of Aerospace, Tsinghua University.

Prof. Lu has been mainly engaged in research on the theory and engineering applications of wireless transmission technologies. He has made quite some innovative scientific and technical achievements, and made influential contributions to China’s national major engineering programs, such as the Lunar Program. He has published more than 200 technical papers in international journals and conference proceedings, and holds 65 Chinese patents. He was awarded the second prize of National Technical Innovation Award, and the second prize of National Natural Science Award of China.

Prof. Lu was granted the funding of National Distinguished Young Scholar, and heading an Innovative Research Group of the National Natural Science Foundation of China. He was honored as the Yangtze River Scholar Distinguished Professor. He is a committee member of Hi-Tech Research and Development Program (863), and a chief scientist of the National Basic Research Program (973) of China. He also serves as an executive member of the council of Chinese Institute of Electronics-CIE, and a convener of discipline appraisal group of Information and Communication Engineering, Academic Degrees Committee of the State Council.

Prof. Lu is a Fellow of the IEEE. He served in numerous IEEE conferences as a member of Technical Program Committees. He was an Editor of IEEE Transactions on Wireless Communications from 2008 to 2011, the Lead Chair of the General Symposium of IEEE ICC 2008, as well as a Program Committee Co-Chair of the 9th IEEE International Conference on Cognitive Informatics in 2010, and a general Co-Chair of the 14th IEEE International Conference on Cognitive Informatics in 2015.

In 2015, he was elected as a member of Chinese Academy of Sciences.