Jianbin Luo

Luo Jianbin, a member of Chinese Academy of Sciences and tribology expert, was born in Huxian, Shaanxi Province, in 1961.

Prof. Luo Jianbin received his BEng degree in the speciality of Metal Working from Northeastern University in 1982. He worked in Xi'an Cable Factory from 1982 to 1985, and then continued his study in Metal Working in Xi'an University of Architecture and Technology. He got his MEng degree in 1988 and worked as a lecturer in Xi'an University of Architecture and Technology until 1991. In 1994, he received his PhD degree in Mechanical Design and Theory from Tsinghua University and then joined the faculty of Tsinghua University. He was granted the funding of "National Distinguished Young Scholar" in 1999, and was honored as "Yangtze River Scholar Distinguished Professor" in 2002. In 2011, he was elected as a member of Chinese Academy of Sciences.

Prof. Luo Jianbin is currently the director of SKLT (State Key Laboratory of Tribology) and the head of the Department of Mechanical Engineering, Tsinghua University. He is also the vice president of International Tribology Council and the chairman of Technical Committee for Tribology of IFToMM (International Federation for the Promotion of Mechanism and Machine Science). He was the chief scientist of two "973" projects (National Key Basic Research Program), and the head of Innovative Research Group of the National Natural Science Foundation of China. He was also the Chair of Chinese Tribology Institute (CTI) from 2008 to 2012. In addition, he is the editor-in-chief of the English journal "Friction", an associate editor or editorial board member for 7 famous academic journals.

Prof. Luo Jianbin has long been engaged in nanotribology research and nanomanufacturing. He was awarded the third prize of "National Technical Innovation Award", the second prize of "National Natural Science Award", the second prize of "National Scientific and Technological Progress Award", and other provincial and ministerial awards for 7 times. In 2013, he was honored with "STLE International Award". He has been invited to give talks as a keynote or plenary speaker (13 times) or invited speaker (9 times) for international conferences.