Home  ›  Department News  ›  Content

Ms. Diane Marie Amann of U.S. University of Georgia Visited THU Law School and Delivered an Academic Lecture

On the afternoon of June 5, 2012, Diane Marie Amann, the Emily and Ernest Woodruff Chair professor in International Law at the School Of Law, University Of Georgia, visited the THU Law School and delivered a speech entitled Responsibility and the International Criminal Court. The speech was hosted by Professor Jia Bingbing. The audience included teachers, students from the Law School and outside scholars.

Ms. Amann started her speech from the current situation in Syria and then made a brief introduction to some background information, like the evolvement of the International Criminal Law, the establishment of the International Criminal Court (ICC) and the the member states of the Court. Following this, she made comments on the responsibility framework of the ICC: who is to be held responsible and how. Based on the different denotations of responsibility, Ms. Amann made analyses of the responsibilities of the UN Security Council, the Convention of the Signatories, prosecutors, judges and the victims. She also answered questions like the role prosecutors play in the ICC, the influence of the ICC on the non-member states and whether the U.S. can become a member state in the near future.

Ms. Amann lectures on subjects like the International Criminal Law, the Law of Wars, the International Public Law and Constitution. She has published more than four dozen chapters and articles in English, French and Italian and was honored with the Article of the Year in International Criminal Law Award in 2005 by the International Association of Penal Law for her article "Abu Ghraib." She served as Vice President of the American Society of International Law from 2009-2001 and as Chair of the Section on International Law of the Association of American Law Schools from 2009 to 2010 and she used to serve as a judicial clerk for Judge Prentice H. Marshall of the U.S. District Court for the Northern District of Illinois and for U.S. Supreme Court Justice John Paul Stevens. The Section on International Law of the American Bar Association gave her its Mayre Rasmussen Award for the Advancement of Women in International Law in 2010.