Home  ›  News  ›  Content

Bruno Latour awarded Holberg International Memorial Prize

Bruno Latour, French sociologist and anthropologist and STS scholar, received the highly prestigious award Holberg International Memorial Prize 2013 in Norway on June 5, 2013 (http://www.holbergprize.no/bruno-latour/holbergs-internasjonale-minnepris-2013-og-nils-klim-prisen-2013-delt-ut.html). The Holberg Prize, which has been called the "social sciences Nobel Prize," was awarded to Latour for his outstanding contributions in the humanities and social sciences. The jury said [rough translation from the Norwegian] that: "Latour is creative, imaginative, playful, humorous and unpredictable, and is not afraid to reconsider their previous positions. His thinking is moving steadily into new, surprising directions, and his scientific career is still developing. Awarding the Holberg Prize to Latour constitutes a recognition both of his work and the importance of the Science and Technology Studies.

Holberg International Memorial Prize (2004-2013)

2013: Bruno Latour

2012: Manuel Castells

2011: Jürgen Kocka

2010: Natalie Zemon Davis

2009: Ian Hacking

2008: Fredric R. Jameson

2007: Ronald Dworkin

2006: Shmuel N. Eisenstadt

2005: Jürgen Habermas

2004: Julia Kristeva

Bruno Latour visited our institut in 2008, and gave a Master class in from the 13th to the 15th of December.

(See: http://www.tsinghua.edu.cn/publish/news/4205/2011/20110225232214953497517/20110225232214953497517_.html)